On Friday, the CFDA Awards revealed its nominees of 2017. The CFDA (short for Council of Fashion Designers of America) each year give awards to fashion designers and fashion icons. Last year’s winners included Beyoncé, Marc Jacobs and Gucci’s Alessandre Michele, just to name drop a few. This year around, the council is honoring Rick Owens with its prestigious Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Max Fieschi for Tim Coppens FW17

But Owens isn’t the only one who is being awarded. The international award will go to Demna Gvasalia of Vetements and Balenciaga. The award for fashion icon will go to the late editor in chief of Vogue Italia Franca Sozzani. Apart from the awards we already know, there are the nominees who’ll have to wait ’till the CFDA Awards night to know the verdict.

Raf Simons is nominated twice, once in the category of womenswear designer of the year and once more in the category of menswear designer of the year. We honestly think he should win the award for womenswear designer. Our personal favorites from the menswear designer of the year nominees are Tim Coppens and Raf Simons again. Belgians just do it better, that’s a fact.

For the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, our favorites are Monse and Off-White. They both are very promising and would be a perfect match with the ENFNTS TERRIBLES Magazine. (Virgil Abloh, if you’re reading this, we want to shoot an editorial with your collection!)

Have a look at the full list of nominees and honorees below. 

The Nominees

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year: Stuart Vevers for Coach, Irene Neuwirth, Paul Andrew, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row, and Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Sander Lak for Sies Marjan


Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

International Award: Demna Gvasalia of Vetements and Balenciaga

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Pat McGrath

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Gloria Steinem, Cecile Richards, and Janelle Monáe

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole