Janne Schellingen

10 Jul

10 New Music Releases You Have to Listen to Today

We’re back again with our ten favorite music releases of the week. From the posthumous song “Life’s a Mess” by Juice WRLD to the new bop of Glass Animals, you can discover all the new songs in this handy-dandy list.

1. The Driver Era — Take Me Away

The Driver Era has been keeping busy. Earlier this year, the two brothers Ross and Rocky Lynch (yes, from R5) already released two singles “Flashdrive” and “OMG Plz Don’t Come Around”. Believe it or not, the second title wasn’t intended as a hint during the quarantine. Now, the American band has released their third single “Take Me Away”. It’s a slower song with a laid-back vibe. The Driver Era’s new songs are different than their debut album X but we’re all here for it. We’re very excited about what the band is going to bring to the music world.

2. Blackbear — queen of broken hearts

We’re getting closer and closer to the release of everything means nothing, the new album of producer, singer-songwriter blackbear on August 21, 2020. With his newest single “queen of broken hearts”, he has given us another taste of what’s to come. The single is very in line with one of his latest releases “me & ur ghost”, so we can kind of expect what his new album is going to sound like.

Blackbear says that the song is about recognizing social media as an evil villain because it creates a validation addiction. But the new single also brings his bad habits in relationships and character defects into the light. The song is vibrant and engaging and pulls us in until the last second. It’s definitely a banger!

3. Juice WRLD — Life’s A Mess (Ft. Halsey)

Juice WRLD became a promising rapper after his hit “Lucid Dreams” broke through in 2018. In December 2019, he sadly overdosed. His death left many fans and other rappers in shock. His family decided to release a posthumous album Legends Never Die. It was released today, and one of the songs on the album is “Life’s a Mess” featuring the singer Halsey.

The song is about the not-always apparent search for true love but eventually still finding it. The song shows that Juice WRLD was a great artist who had so much more to bring to the music scene. The addition of Halsey’s voice makes the song complete. Juice WRLD is an artist that’s still missed greatly and with Legends Never Die, fans can still commemorate his talent and presence. The album features many other artists like Marshmello, Trippie Redd, Blake Slatkin, Skrillex, and many more.

4. Glass Animals — Heat Waves

The British band Glass Animals has made another bop “Heat Waves”. It’s the fourth single they’ve released of their new upcoming album Dreamland, and we’re completely living for it. The band already surprised us with “Tokyo Drifting”, “Your Love (Déjà Vu)”, and “Dreamland”. The first two are very upbeat and perfect for parties, while “Dreamland” is slowed down and melancholic. “Heat Waves” is a mix between “Dreamland” and “Tokyo Drifting”, which is a mix we didn’t know we needed until Glass Animals gave it to us. Keep doing what you’re doing, Glass Animals!

5. James Blake — Are You Even Real?

The fifth song on our list is “Are You Even Real?” by James Blake. The singer became especially popular after his cover of “Limit To Your Love” by Feist in 2011 and hasn’t stopped since. This single reminds us of his music at that time. Blake co-wrote the luscious ballad with Starrah and Ali Tamposi. “Are You Even Real?” is a swooning song that captures Blake’s talents perfectly. The single shows that Blake is entering a new phase of mature songcraft and is a promise for a top-notch album.

6. IKRAAAN — Alleen

Belgian singer IKRAAAN has been producing hits one after the other. We interviewed her right before COVID-19 struck and she has been in our hearts ever since. Her new single “Alleen” (Dutch for Alone) talks about loneliness. IKRAAAN has always been very vocal when it comes to mental health, and this song proves it once again. “Alleen” came to be during quarantine when it became apparent that there was a peak in loneliness. The slow and cold single is a way for the singer to bring a message across and to speak up about the often occurring problem. If you ever struggle with your own mental health, don’t hesitate to contact your local helpline.

7. Love Fame Tragedy — Everything Affects Me Now

You might not know Love Fame Tragedy (shame on you!), but you definitely know the singer Matthew Murphy, lead singer of The Wombats. Love Fame Tragedy is the solo project of the Brit, and he hasn’t disappointed us so far. “Everything Affects Me Now” is the eleventh (!) single of his new album Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave, which was released earlier today. The single is a poppy, electronic song that keeps up a vast tempo, and it makes us fall in love with Love Fame Tragedy completely.

8. Gerard Way — Here Comes The End (Ft. Judith Hill)

At the end of July, the second season of The Umbrella Academy appears on Netflix. To say we’re excited would be an understatement. The first season left us with so many questions! To still our hunger, writer of the comic book series Gerard Way (lead singer of My Chemical Romance) has released “Here Comes The End” together with the trailer for the new season. Judith Hill features on the song, which makes for a very fuzzy punk rock song. There are hints of ’90s indie music laced in the soundtrack, and overall, it fits perfectly with The Umbrella Academy.

9. Declan McKenna — Daniel, You’re Still a Child

“Daniel, You’re Still a Child” is the third single from Declan Mckenna’s delayed album Zeros. The second album of McKenna is set to arrive on August 21. Daniel is a character that appears on two tracks of the new album. McKenna explains Daniel as a kid who has a lot to prove and has a lot in him but is just continually being led astray because the world keeps telling him he’s not “normal”. Alongside the new track, McKenna also announced a UK and European tour in 2021 with a stop in Antwerp’s Trix on April 27.

10. SOKO — Looking For Love

SOKO finishes off our list. She just released her new album Feel Feelings after a five-year hiatus and it’s amazing. We did a very personal interview with her to talk about the new album. One of the singles on the album is “Looking For Love”. The song has a very chill, laid-back vibe to it, which makes it perfect to listen to on a summer evening. When talking about the music video, SOKO said she wanted to be a knight on a quest for love. She wanted the video to feel like an epic trailer of a movie about a warrior of love. She definitely got that right!


On Our Radar: Baby Queen Is a Glitter-Drained Broken Heart Baby Queen may not be the most refreshing artist name you’ll hear today, but we promise that you won’t regret…
Nadia Tehran: “There’s No Joy in Being a Nazi Killer” The Iranian-Swedish artist Nadia Tehran has gained a lot of traction for her distinct experimental sound: an exciting concoction of…
Miley Cyrus Combines the Best of Both Worlds on ‘Plastic Hearts’ Miley has been going through different phases, but no phase comes even close to her new era. We’ve seen her…
Dua Lipa Reinvents Livestream Concerts With the Interstellar ‘Studio 2054’ The coronavirus made the music industry collapse and challenged artists and labels to find new ways to connect with an…

Subscribe here for free pizza*

(*Pizza might actually be our newsletter)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.